Information Retrieval

HTAi Interest Group on Information Retrieval (IRG)

The Information Retrieval Group (IRG) of HTAi is an Interest Group for individuals who provide the information resources, conduct research, and develop information management issues that support HTA decision making. Members of the IRG are staff members of HTA organizations, government departments and agencies, for profit and not for profit firms, consultants and experts, and all those who use, provide, or otherwise support HTA information needs.

The IRG was established in 1997 as a Special Interest Group of ISTAHC, and has continued as an Interest Group of HTAi since the launch of HTAi in 2003. The IRG has around 150 members working in a wide variety of capacities to support informed decision HTA decision making.

Group activities

The IRG is active in developing, collaborating on, and promoting information retrieval methods and technologies appropriate to HTA

  • developing and maintaining the HTAi Vortal, a web-based source of HTA information available to anyone;
  • leading full-day workshops, panel sessions and educational courses at HTAi’s Annual Meetings; and,
  • exchanging information and sharing expertise for advancing processes, methodology and tools.


All members of HTAi are welcome to join the IRG, requests to join can be sent via the IRG e-mail listserver. To join, simply log in to the website and return to this page. A link to join the IG mailing list will appear automatically. 

Would you like to join this IG? Become a member of HTAi.

IRG Chairmanship and Executive Committee:

Ingrid Harboe, Chair (Norway) 2015-2017

Siw Waffenschmidt, Chair-Elect (Germany) 2017-2019

Catherine Voutier (Australia), Executive Committee member (Australia) 2015-2017

Dagmara Chojecki, Executive Committee member (Canada) 2015-2017

Past Chairs

Jaana Isojärvi, (Finland) 2015-2016
David Kaunelis (Canada), 2013-2015
Catherine Voutier (Australia), 2011-2013

Sari Ormstad (Norway), 2009-2011 
Malene Fabricius Jensen (Denmark), 2007-2009 
Becky Skidmore (Canada) 2005-2007 
Elaine Alligood (USA) 2003-2005 
Susan Bidwell (New Zealand) 2001-2003 
Ione Auston (USA) 1999-2001 

Questions about the work of this group or its membership should be sent to the Chair Ingrid Harboe.